Raul H. Gonzalez
Council Member Raul H. Gonzalez 
District 2

First Elected November 2020
Term expires May 2024


Send E-mail or use online form

District 2 boundaries are generally south of Interstate 20, west to the city limit at Kennedale, east to Matlock Road, and south to the city limit at Mansfield. District 2 includes the major shopping district along Cooper Street; numerous parks including Harold Patterson Sports Complex and the award-winning Tierra Verde Gold Course; three independent school districts (Arlington, Mansfield, & Kennedale); large wooded residential lots and developments.

Council Member Gonzalez is a native Texan, from El Paso.  He moved to Arlington in 1980 to attend University of Texas at Arlington.  Raul and his wife Kerry have been married more than 30 years and met while working at Arlington Stadium for the Texas Rangers.  They raised their family in District 2 where their three young adult children graduated from Summit High School.  

A prostate cancer survivor, Raul ran for Mansfield ISD school board and was elected in 2010.  He volunteered thousands of hours making Mansfield ISD (which serves 14,000 Arlington students) one of the best districts in Texas.  

Raul is an avid UTA Maverick and Dallas Cowboy fan.  Raul and Kerry established the Raul H. and Kerry G. Gonzalez Endowed Scholarship Yearly Award to an AISD or MISD student attending UTA.   He appreciates new challenges as well as meeting new people but enjoys spending time with his family most of all. 


  • Bachelor of Business Administration - University of Texas at Arlington
  • UTA College of Business Dean’s Leadership, the Dr. Robert W. Bosworth Jr Award

Council Committees

  • Finance and Audit
  • Transportation & Municipal Infrastructure - Chair
  • Economic Development
  • Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones (TIRZ) 1,5 & 6
  • Arlington Convention and Visitor’s Bureau

Council Representation

  • Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition (TRTC)
  • Secretary position, Tarrant Regional Water District (TRWD) Wholesale Customer Quarterly Advisory Committee
  • NCTCOG Regional Transportation Council (RTC) 
  • Library Advisory Committee

Community Service

  • UTA College of Business Dean’s Leadership
    Circle: Founding Members (2019-present)
  • H.O.P.E. Tutoring 
    Advisory Council (2010 – present)
    Board of Director (2007 – 2009)
  • Mansfield Chamber of Commerce (2010 – present)
  • Optimist Club of Arlington (2001-present)
    President (2010)
  • The Salvation Army Arlington Advisory Council (2011- present)
  • The Salvation Army Arlington Youth Education Town (YET) Advisory Council (2015-present)
  • University of Texas at Arlington Maverick Club (2003 – present)
  • University of Texas at Arlington 1895 Society (2006-present) 

Past Community Service

  • Arlington Alliance for Youth (2007-2012)
  • Arlington Landmark Preservation Commission (2007- 2009) 
  • Center for Reform of School Systems (CRSS) Texas Fellow (2011)
  • City of Arlington Animal Essay Judge (2012 – 2019)
  • City of Arlington Transportation Advisory Committee (2016-2017)
  • City of Mansfield Complete Count Committee (appointed 2019-2020)
  • Methodist Mansfield Patient and Family Advisory Council (2017– 2019)
  • Mansfield ISD School Board Trustee (elected 2010 – 2020)
    President (2016-2018)
  • National School Boards Association Advocacy Fellow (2015– 2020)
  • National School Boards Association Federal Relations Network (2015-2020)
  • North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB) (2010-2020)
    Vice President (2018-2020)
  • Summit High School Band Booster Club (2008 – 2017)
  • Summit High School Baseball Booster Club (2008 – 2009)
  • T.A. Howard Middle School Band and Athletic Booster Club (2006 – 2013)
  • Tarrant County Elections Citizens Advisory Elections Committee (2018-2019)
  • Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) (2010-2020)
    Leadership TASB (2017)
  • University of Texas at Arlington Association National Board of Director (2012 – 2015)
    Task Force Member - Appointed by President Vistasp Karbhari (2014)
  • White House session with President George W. Bush on Health Savings Account plans (2007) 
  • Wimbledon Homeowners Association
    Architectural Control Committee (1991-1994)
  • YMCA, Optimist Club of Arlington and Mansfield Youth Baseball Association
    Youth Baseball Coach (1997-2008) 

Professional Background/Memberships

  • Director of Administration, Passman & Jones (1983-present)
  • Association of Legal Administrators (ALA)


  • The Dr. Robert W. Bosworth Jr. Holders of Hope Award (2023)
  • The Arlington/Mansfield Salvation Army Volunteer of the Year Award (2020)
  • The Arlington/Mansfield Salvation Army Inspiring Youth Impact Award (2019)
  • Gary Whetzle Heart for the Community Award (2018)
  • H-E-B Excellence in Education® Leadership Award. (2018)
  • Honor School Board by Texas Association of School Administrators (2017)
  • Texas Association of School Boards Master Trustee (2017)
  • Advocacy Institute Conference Scholarship Recipient (2015)
  • Mansfield FFA Chapter Honorary Member (2014)
  • Extra Mile Servant Leader of the Year Award (2012)
  • Arlington Alliance for Youth Champions of Youth Award (2010)
  • Optimist International Distinguished President Award (2010)
  • Optimist of the Year (2006)
  • Frank Gannet Newspaper Carrier Scholarship Recipient (1980)

Contact Your Council Member

Do you have questions or comments for your Council Member? First, check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If you don't find an answer to your question, you are encouraged to contact your Council Member.